• Register
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • @NeoGAF
  • Like

earvcunanan
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:19 AM)
earvcunanan's Avatar
The trial is up for EA Origin / Early Access. Some impressions so far:

Originally Posted by ·feist·

Could you add some further info to the OP?

Instead of having to sift through several dozen pages for impressions, it would be helpful to have some in one easy to find location:



PC Games Hardware (PCGH) —— Mass Effect: Andromeda - Technic test with further graphics card and processor benchmarks


PC Games hardware (PCGH) [YouTube Video] —— Mass Effect Andromeda (PC) Graphics comparison - Low vs. Medium vs. High vs. Ultra


GameGPU.ru —— Mass Effect Andromeda GPU test


Joker Productions [YouTube Video] —— Mass Effect Andromeda PC Performance Review


PCGames N —— Mass Effect: Andromeda PC graphics, performance and 4K analysis - the PCGamesN tech review


Nvidia [YouTube Video] —— Mass Effect: Andromeda 4K HDR Exclusive Tech Trailer


Nvidia —— EXPLORE THE ANDROMEDA GALAXY WITH GEFORCE GTX 10-SERIES.


Candyland [YouTube Video] —— 4K UHD | Mass Effect: Andromeda – PC Low vs. Medium vs. High vs. Max Graphics Comparison


Benchmarkhardware [YouTube Video] —— Mass Effect Andromeda - Graphic comparison PC Ultra vs Mid vs Low

Originally Posted by KKRT00

Frostbite has FPS counter.

perfoverlay.enable 1
perfoverlay.drawgraph 1 for full info or perfoverlay.drawFPS 1

For locking FPS check my post above.

Originally Posted by bananafactory

As per @etdragonpunch on Twitter

GTX 1070/i5 4670k/16 GB DDR3

High @ 1440 = 35fps
Medium-Low @ 1440 = 60 w/ drops

Originally Posted by DrBo42

100% repeatable full system crash after taking the tram.

Windows 10 64-bit/i7 6700K/980ti

Originally Posted by KKRT00

Played next one.

The lowest fps drop was like 55fps for me in close room with like 7 NPCs and full 4 players. Generally the game runs at around 90+ fps even in heavy battle.
GTX1080 + [email protected] in [email protected] on Ultra.

For finishing at 5 wave we got 5k credits, for finishing fully bronze we got 13k credits.

Looks quite good i would say. Crappy screens, because i just pressed screenshot key in random, more quiet moment :)

Originally Posted by Dusktildawn48

Played 1 match MP.
6700k @4.5
GTX 1080
Playing @ 1440p
Runs pretty good. 70-85fps

Originally Posted by GinoFelino

7700K
GTX 1080
16 GB DDR4

Runs great, 60+ fps with nearly everything on ultra, running, ehm, either 4K or 1440p. Still working out resolution stuff, running duplicate monitor/TV with the TV resolution set at 2160p. So I guess it runs at 2160p?

That said, the game is janky as fuck and I'm cancelling the hell out of my preorder

Last edited by earvcunanan; 03-19-2017 at 06:52 AM.
PFD
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:25 AM)
PFD's Avatar
Looking for overclocked 980Ti impressions!
GinoFelino
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:34 AM)
GinoFelino's Avatar
To clarify: by janky I mean the cutscenes have the flair and polish of a TellTale game. How the fuck does this game look and feel notably worse than Dragon Age, a crossplatform title?

I'm so disappointed, man. I don't know what Shinobi is smoking..I love Bioware but I can't get into this at all. I haven't played Dragon Age 2, but basically everything else they've made, and this is their worst game by a mile.
TC McQueen
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:38 AM)
TC McQueen's Avatar
Anybody got an i5-3570K and 970? I want to know if you can hit 60FPS at 1080p on High.
SargerusBR
I love Pokken!
(03-16-2017, 12:41 AM)
SargerusBR's Avatar
Looking forward for 1080p impressions
Lashley
Banned
(03-16-2017, 12:43 AM)

Originally Posted by SargerusBR

Looking forward for 1080p impressions

Same here
Admiral Woofington
m'Souls, m'lady
(03-16-2017, 12:43 AM)
Admiral Woofington's Avatar
looking forward to 1070 @ 1080p to see if we have decently close to 60 fps
Xyber
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:43 AM)
Xyber's Avatar
GTX 1080, i7 [email protected], 16GB DDR4, Win 10. Playing at 1440p.

80-100fps with almost everything on low when you land on the first planet and work your way down a narrow path.

Around 120fps in multiplayer.

To put it in comparison with BF1. That game I run on mostly ultra settings with 2 things turned down to medium and I get 120+fps pretty much all the time. I won't be getting this after all. I was already not very excited after the very mixed impressions, but add performance problems on top of that and I'll just wait until it's cheap if I want to play it later on.

Already have waaay to many games I need to play anyway.
hairygreenpeas
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 12:44 AM)
Would love impressions for dual GTX 980s, i5 4690K, and 16GB of RAM @ 1080p/1440p!
Corpsepyre
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:45 AM)
Corpsepyre's Avatar
Waiting to read how it performs with mid-end cards.
nOoblet16
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:46 AM)
nOoblet16's Avatar
Need to know how it performs on a 970 at 1080P/ultra
LelouchZero
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:47 AM)
LelouchZero's Avatar
I'm really looking forward to playing this, I loved the trilogy on PC!
Collingwood
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:47 AM)
Collingwood's Avatar
Oof. Not looking good.

My twitter timeline is showing a pretty average looking game.
blackMamba1187
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:55 AM)
blackMamba1187's Avatar
There will probably be a new driver on release day. Hopefully that'll alleviate some of these technical issues.
The Dark Shape
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 12:56 AM)
I have two 1080s installed and just picked up a 1080 Ti to replace them. I'll let you guys know how it runs on both setups when I get home from work.
kamspy
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:57 AM)
kamspy's Avatar
100% CPU usage in menus.

i5 6600K 4.5Ghz
OG Titan 1.2Ghz
16 GB DDR4
RazorbackDB
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:58 AM)
RazorbackDB's Avatar
AMD released a new driver for it BTW

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-arti...ase-Notes.aspx
BossDarkseid
Member
(03-16-2017, 12:59 AM)
BossDarkseid's Avatar

Originally Posted by blackMamba1187

There will probably be a new driver on release day. Hopefully that'll alleviate some of these technical issues.

There was an Nvidia Driver the other day, can't remember if it was for Andromeda. Damn this seems pretty bad, how do BioWare do it...and how did Mike Gamble suggest a 1080Ti or something wpuld be 4k 60fps...
Sodding_Gamer
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:01 AM)
Sodding_Gamer's Avatar
Would love to read up on anyone's performance at 1080 with a 970.
Relentless 757
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:01 AM)
During cut scenes and game play I get random freezes/hiccups(more so during cut scenes). Running the game at max settings(except lighting and effects, they're set to high).

System Specs:
GTX 1070
Intel i5-3570k @3.6Ghz
8GB RAM

This could be happening because the game was still installing when I was playing, or maybe not. Not really sure. Anyone else experiencing this with similar specs?
BitterSidekick
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:02 AM)
BitterSidekick's Avatar
Anyone with 480, hows the performance?
blackMamba1187
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:02 AM)
blackMamba1187's Avatar
The 378.78 driver release note in geforce experience only mentions Ghost Recon, but who knows.
Last edited by blackMamba1187; 03-16-2017 at 01:06 AM.
Vamphuntr
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:03 AM)
Vamphuntr's Avatar

Originally Posted by Sodding_Gamer

Would love to read up on anyone's performance at 1080 with a 970.

From the other thread :

Originally Posted by TLS Lex

Having the blackscreen issue.

Windows 10 64-Bit
Core-i7 4790k
GTX 970

I don't have that Corsair thingy installed so I can't uninstall it as some sort of hail mary XD. Dying to play but now have to go to bed for work, I'll look for a fix tomorrow.

VpomRurd
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:04 AM)
VpomRurd's Avatar
Anyone had a crash due to a directx error? I've had it twice so far, once on the ark before landing and another on the planet, seemingly totally random crashes.
SunDimension24
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:05 AM)
SunDimension24's Avatar
980ti, i5 6600k, 8GB Ram, Everything on ultra and 1440p. Been running fine and around 50-52fps and some spots are a smooth 60. I will say when I first started when it was at 42%, I had alot of frame drops to around 35-40fps and stuttering and thought it was busted. I waited until the installation was 100% done and things got better. Gonna drop a few things later to get a more consistant 60FPS. About to do the first mission after the prologue soon and see how things hold up there.
VpomRurd
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:05 AM)
VpomRurd's Avatar
By the way, I have a 970 and play at 1080, I've got some settings on ultra, some on high, and some on medium and I was getting 70+ fps on the first planet, definitely not dipping below 60 in combat.

Can't remember which is which but I think the settings that require a game reset are at medium, everything high+.
Sodding_Gamer
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:06 AM)
Sodding_Gamer's Avatar

Originally Posted by Vamphuntr

From the other thread :

Oh dear. Well I've grabbed the PS4 version due to friends on there, but was going to double dip at some point. Hopefully that sorta shit is fixed by the time I nab it!

Edit:

Originally Posted by VpomRurd

By the way, I have a 970 and play at 1080, I've got some settings on ultra, some on high, and some on medium and I was getting 70+ fps on the first planet, definitely not dipping below 60 in combat.

Can't remember which is which but I think the settings that require a game reset are at medium, everything high+.

Great news
JBwB
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:06 AM)
JBwB's Avatar

Originally Posted by Relentless 757

During cut scenes and game play I get random freezes/hiccups(more so during cut scenes). Running the game at max settings(except lighting and effects, they're set to high).

System Specs:
GTX 1070
Intel i5-3570k @3.6Ghz
8GB RAM

This could be happening because the game was still installing when I was playing, or maybe not. Not really sure. Anyone else experiencing this with similar specs?


What resolution are you playing the game at and what FPS are you getting on average?
Collateral22
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:06 AM)
Collateral22's Avatar
how much can you play when it becomes playable? Mines like 70% downloaded but I can post some 970 i5 6600k impressions.
Whales
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:08 AM)
Whales's Avatar
lol no way my GTX 760 is going to run this decently

im due for an upgrade
Taggen86
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:08 AM)
U guys who have gtx1080s/titans and 4k hdr tvs, how does it run in 4k? Is it possible to get a locked 30/50 fps with some tweaks? Is there hdr support (dolby vision and/or hdr10)? I want to know whether I should buy ps pro or the pc version...
SunDimension24
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:08 AM)
SunDimension24's Avatar

Originally Posted by TehGoomba

how much can you play when it becomes playable? Mines like 70% downloaded but I can post some 970 i5 6600k impressions.

42% for single player, 60% for multi
GinoFelino
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:10 AM)
GinoFelino's Avatar

Originally Posted by Taggen86

U guys who have gtx1080s/titans and 4k hdr tvs, how does it run in 4k? Is it possible to get a locked 30/50 fps with some tweaks? Is there hdr support (dolby vision and/or hdr10)? I want to know whether I should buy ps pro or the pc version...

Yeah it has HDR10.

Runs great (60fps) on GTX 1080 in 1440p with 1.2x resolution scaling on Ultra.

But please wait for reviews. From what I've played, the game is ass.
Eclectic Sk3ptic
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:12 AM)
Eclectic Sk3ptic's Avatar
The game's actually better looking than I expected. Shaders, lighting, and effects look to be on par with other current graphically demanding titles. A fairly stable 1440p60 with most settings on "high" is as good as it gets on my 1080 FTW OCed to 2,088Mhz and 5820K at 4.3Ghz. I thought upgrading to a 1080ti might allow me to shoot for 4K60 at "high", but I don't think it's going to happen. Can't wait to receive the card and test it out, though.
Taggen86
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:13 AM)

Originally Posted by GinoFelino

Yeah it has HDR10.

Runs great (60fps) on GTX 1080 in 1440p with 1.2x resolution scaling on Ultra.

But please wait for reviews. From what I've played, the game is ass.

Thx for your answer. Anyone with a dolby vision compatible tv that could test dv? (Eg b6 oled)
HKA6A7
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:15 AM)
HKA6A7's Avatar
I see a lot of "I'm gonna fix this later" kind of bugs and jankiness. Which means, that the day MEA launches, the sky will tear itself up and from the clouds of gaming, a 2 GB patch (minimum) will fall from the sky to fix a lot of those.

Makes you wonder why they do these early access stuff if the product isn't ready, all it grants you is even more bad press.
Cert.in.Death
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:16 AM)
Cert.in.Death's Avatar
Settings for:

GTX 1080 @ 1440p/4k?
Wulfram
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:16 AM)

Originally Posted by HKA6A7

I see a lot of "I'm gonna fix this later" kind of bugs and jankiness. Which means, that the day MEA launches, the sky will tear itself up and from the clouds of gaming, a 2 GB patch (minimum) will fall from the sky to fix a lot of those.

Makes you wonder why they do these early access stuff if the product isn't ready, all it grants you is even more bad press.

They've already got the "day 1" patch actually, so I wouldn't count on the bugs all being fixed soon.
Relentless 757
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:17 AM)

Originally Posted by JBwB

What resolution are you playing the game at and what FPS are you getting on average?

900p, pretty sure I was getting 60 fps until the freezes/hiccups occur.
Yappadappadu
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:17 AM)
Yappadappadu's Avatar

Originally Posted by Taggen86

Thx for your answer. Anyone with a dolby vision compatible tv that could test dv? (Eg b6 oled)

No DV support yet, as confirmed by a B6 owner.
SunDimension24
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:19 AM)
SunDimension24's Avatar

Originally Posted by Relentless 757

During cut scenes and game play I get random freezes/hiccups(more so during cut scenes). Running the game at max settings(except lighting and effects, they're set to high).

System Specs:
GTX 1070
Intel i5-3570k @3.6Ghz
8GB RAM

This could be happening because the game was still installing when I was playing, or maybe not. Not really sure. Anyone else experiencing this with similar specs?

Same thing happened to me as well. Once it finished downloading the game it got alot better. (980ti, [email protected],8GB RAM)
Felix Lighter
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:20 AM)
Felix Lighter's Avatar
Watching the Giant Bomb stream and this game simply looks like an unpolished mess. Like a serious delay was needed and the publisher said "nope, ship it."
VpomRurd
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:21 AM)
VpomRurd's Avatar

Originally Posted by Relentless 757

900p, pretty sure I was getting 60 fps until the freezes/hiccups occur.

You have a 1070 and are playing at 900p?
GinoFelino
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:22 AM)
GinoFelino's Avatar

Originally Posted by Taggen86

Thx for your answer. Anyone with a dolby vision compatible tv that could test dv? (Eg b6 oled)

DV has to be hardware-encoded right. I don't think PCs can do Dolby Vision at all yet, man.
HKA6A7
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:22 AM)
HKA6A7's Avatar

Originally Posted by Wulfram

They've already got the "day 1" patch actually, so I wouldn't count on the bugs all being fixed soon.

...

I'm gonna make some popcorn for this tuesday.

Anybody else wants popcorn? Coke? We still have time to get ready, looks like another big fight on a fanbase is coming.
GinoFelino
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:23 AM)
GinoFelino's Avatar

Originally Posted by Cert.in.Death

Settings for:

GTX 1080 @ 1440p/4k?

Ultra almost everything
Garrett Hawke
Member
(03-16-2017, 01:23 AM)
Garrett Hawke's Avatar
i5 4590
970
16GB DDR3
SSD

I'm getting 1080 peas and 60 frames per second

Settings

Ajax125
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:24 AM)
Ajax125's Avatar

Originally Posted by BitterSidekick

Anyone with 480, hows the performance?

.
Relentless 757
Junior Member
(03-16-2017, 01:24 AM)

Originally Posted by VpomRurd

You have a 1070 and are playing at 900p?

My monitor is holding me back lol, but before I stopped playing to let the game finish installing I decided to mess with the resolution scale and discovered the 1080p option. Is that pretty much upscaled 1080p?

Originally Posted by SunDimension24

Same thing happened to me as well. Once it finished downloading the game it got alot better. (980ti, [email protected],8GB RAM)

Nice, I'll find out if anything changes when the game finishes installing.
Lashley
Banned
(03-16-2017, 01:25 AM)

Originally Posted by VpomRurd

By the way, I have a 970 and play at 1080, I've got some settings on ultra, some on high, and some on medium and I was getting 70+ fps on the first planet, definitely not dipping below 60 in combat.

Can't remember which is which but I think the settings that require a game reset are at medium, everything high+.

Fantastic to hear :)

Thread Tools